VII Annual Meeting MIRPS 2024

9

Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza, Belize City

Thursday, 5 December



AGENDA

8:30 a.m.	Registration
9:00 a.m.	Opening remarks
9:25 a.m.	 Master of ceremonies: Ms. Tanya Santos, Chief Executive Officer, Ministry of Immigration of Belize Hon. John Briceño, Prime Minister of Belize and Minister of Immigration H.E. Nestor Mendez, Assistant Secretary General of the Organization of American States (OAS) H.E. Filippo Grandi, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
9:25 a.m. 9:30 a.m.	Official Photo
9:30 a.m. 9:45 a.m.	Coffee Break
9:45 a.m. 9:50 a.m.	MIRPS 2024 Video
9:50 a.m. 11:00 a.m.	 Thematic Discussions Session 1: Access to protection in countries of transit and destination Moderation: Mr. Michael Carter, Director for International Engagement and Capacity Building, Asylum Program and Policy Branch, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada

	 Session 3: Durable solutions and integration of displaced persons Moderation: Mr. Francesco Carella, Regional Labour Migration and Mobility Specialist, ILO H.E. Cindy Portal, Vice Minister of Diaspora and Human Mobility of El Salvador Mr. Nikolai Zelaya, Director, Refugees Department, Ministry of Immigration of Belize Mr. Jean Paul San Lee, Acting Director of the General Directorate of Migration and Foreigners of Costa Rica Ms. Fabiola Mazariegos, Director of Migration Affairs of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Guatemala Ms. Jenny Martinez, Councilor, Representing the Municipality of Benque Viejo del Carmen Ms. Ana Cabrera Cordón, Women, Peace and Security Programmes Analyst, UN Women Mr. Michael Lund, Deputy Resident Representative for UNDP Belize Reflections in Plenary
11:10 a.m. 11:45 a.m.	Interventions from MIRPS Support Platform Members Moderation: Dr. Betilde Muñoz-Pogossian, Director of the Department of Social Inclusion, Organization of American States Ms. Jennifer Davis, Acting Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration, United States of America H.E. Ambassador Isaura Duarte Rodríguez, Refugee Status Determination IWG Coordinator - Technical Secretariat CONARE, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Colombia H.E. Ambassador Erja Askola, Ambassador of the European Union to Jamaica, Belize and the Bahamas H.E. Maciej Popowski, Director-General, Directorate General for European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations (DG ECHO), European Union (video intervention) Mr. Michael Carter, Director for International Engagement and Capacity Building, Asylum Program and Policy Branch, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada H.E. Ambassador Agemar Sanctos, Ambassador of Brazil to Belize Ms. María Salcedo, Minister Counselor, Embassy of Spain in Mexico Ms. Ana Aguilera, Senior Social Development Specialist for Latin America and Caribbean, Department of Social Development, World Bank (video intervention) Mr. Felipe Muñoz, Chief of Migration Unit, Inter-American Development Bank (video intervention)
11:45 a.m. 11:50 a.m.	 OAS Intervention on the MIRPS Fund Ms. Claudia González Bengoa, Chief of the Migration and Forced Displacement Section, Department of Social Inclusion, Organization of American States
11:50 a.m. 12:10 p.m.	 Interventions on MIRPS Dialogue Mechanisms Moderation: Dr. Betilde Muñoz-Pogossian, Director of the Department of Social Inclusion, Organization of American States Mr. Cristian Andrade, Casa Frida, Coordinator of the MIRPS Civil Society Dialogue Mechanism 2024 Dr. Cynthia Eve Aird, Provost, Galen University, MIRPS Academia Dialogue Mechanism Ms. Kim Aikman, CEO, Belize Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Intervention on Private Sector Collaboration
12:10 p.m. 12:15 p.m.	Adoption of the Belize City Declaration

12:15 p.m. 12:25 p.m.	Formal handover of the MIRPS Pro-tempore Presidency and Banner
	 Ms. Tanya Santos, Chief Executive Officer, Ministry of Immigration of Belize H.E. Alejandro Solano, Vice Minister of Multilateral Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Worship
	of Costa Rica (video intervention)
12:25 p.m.	Closing Remarks
12:30 p.m.	
	 Ms. Tanya Santos, Chief Executive Officer, Ministry of Immigration of Belize
1:00 p.m.	Official Lunch
2:30 p.m.	Bilateral Meetings
5:00 p.m.	
7:00 p.m. 10:00 p.m.	Official Cocktail