

AGENDA

8:30 a.m.	Registration
9:00 a.m. 9:15 a.m. 9:15 a.m. 9:25 a.m. 10:00 a.m.	 Opening remarks Ms. Kelly Clements, Deputy High Commissioner, United Nations Refugee Agency (UNHCR) Ms. Maricarmen Plata, Secretary for Access to Rights and Equity, Organization of American States (OAS) H.E. Juana López Córdoba, Viceminister of Government, Panama 2023 Pro-tempore Presidency Annual Report Video Interventions by MIRPS countries H.E. Tanya Santos Neal, Chief Executive Officer, Ministry of Immigration of Belize H.E. Marlen Luna Alfaro, Viceminister of Interior and Police of Costa Rica H.E. Diana Marcela Vanegas, Ambassador of El Salvador to Panama H.E. Juan José Barrios, Ambassador of Guatemala to Panama H.E. Antonio García, Undersecretary for Consular and Migratory Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation of Honduras H.E. Alejandro Bichir Batres, Ambassador of Mexico to Panama Mr. Lorenzo Hincapié, Director of the National Office for the Attention of Refugees of
10:00 a.m. 10:15 a.m. 10:15 a.m. 10:20 a.m.	Break Intervention by the MIRPS Civil Society Dialogue Mechanism Mr. Adrián Meléndez, Director of Diálogo Intercultural Mexicano (DIME), 2023 Coordinator of the Civil Society Dialogue Mechanism
10:20 a.m.	High-Level Solidarity Segment

11:35 a.m.	Opening Statement – Ms. Cheryl Fernandes, Director, Western Hemisphere Affairs, U.S.
	Department of State Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration, United States of America, Chair of the MIRPS Support Platform 2022-2023
	MIRPS Support Platform Video 2023
	Expressions of Solidarity by Members of the MIRPS Support Platform and other Partners
	o Mr. Jason Hollmann, Director General, Asylum Policy Branch, Immigration, Refugees
	and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)
	H.E. Guzmán Palacios, Ambassador of Spain to Panama
	H.E. Carlos Henrique Moojen de Abreu e Silva, Ambassador of Brazil to Panama
	 H.E. Mauricio Baquero, Ambassador of Colombia to Panama H.E. Janez Lenarčič, European Commissioner for Crisis Management, ECHO (video
	intervention)
	 Mr. Thibault Cornut-Gentille, Deputy Chief of Mission, Embassy of France in Panama
	H.E. Hideo Fukushima, Ambassador of Japan to Panama
	 Mr. Michel Kerf, Country Director for Central America and the Dominican Republic, World Bank
	Mr. Felipe Muñoz, Migration Unit Chief, Inter-American Development Bank (video
	intervention)
	• MIRPS Fund Update - Ms. Betilde Muñoz, Director of the Department of Social Inclusion,
	Secretariat for Access to Rights and Equity of the OAS
	Conclusion of Solidarity Segment - Ms. Cheryl Fernandes, Director, Western Hemisphere
	Affairs, U.S. Department of State Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration, United States
	of America, Chair of the MIRPS Support Platform 2022-2023
11:35 a.m.	Ratification of the Statutory Charter
11:45 a.m.	Approval of the Panama City Declaration
11:45 a.m. 12:00 a.m.	Recognitions from the 2023 Panama Pro-tempore Presidency
12:00 p.m.	Formal handover of the MIRPS Pro-tempore Presidency and banner
12:15 p.m.	H.E. Roger Tejada Bryden, Minister of Government of Panama, Pro-tempore Presidency 2023
	H.E. Anthony Sylvestre, Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs of Belize, Government
	of Belize, Pro-tempore Presidency 2024
12:15 p.m.	Handover of MIRPS banner
12:20 p.m.	
12:20 p.m. 12:30 p.m.	Closing Remarks and Official Photo
12:30 p.m.	Lunch
6:30 p.m.	Official Cocktail - InterContinental Miramar Hotel
8:30 p.m.	